FAQ

Below, we have answered some of the most commonly asked questions about our SAFE app. Scroll through the list to find your answer.

How do I get SAFE?

The app is a free download for both iOS and Android devices via the App Store and Google Play.

The Lite version enables you to use certain free features, without any obligation. Two upgradable versions – Pro and Ultimate – provide a suite of personal security and location information services, including 24/7 response from our UK based SAFE Alarm Receiving Centre (ARC) via audio communications for all Ultimate users.

How accurately will SAFE display my location?

SAFE relies on GPS for location information. GPS is a global satellite navigation system able to identify the location of your device around the world.

GPS does not require the user to transmit any information and operates independently of any telephone or internet reception. It is a highly reliable mechanism for determining location and operates in areas where you would be without sufficient signal to use your phone to make calls or use the internet.

What is the SAFE Alarm Receiving Centre (ARC)?

The SAFE Alarm Receiving Centre (or SAFE ARC) is a 24/7 UK based, global monitoring and operations centre, trained to assist SAFE Ultimate users in instances of amber calls and SOS emergencies.

Two SAFE ARC control rooms ensure operational availability at all times, including multiple network connections and back-up power sources – fully BS8484 accredited.

What is BS8484?

BS8484 is the British Standard for the provision of lone worker device services.

It is recognised as the required accreditation for all responsible suppliers in the industry and provides the authority by which the SAFE Alarm Receiving Centre has direct communication with the Police.

What happens if I activate the SOS?

For Ultimate users, if you are in the UK:

  • The 24/7 Alarm Receiving Centre is fully operational throughout the UK and with BS8484 accreditation has the authority to contact the relevant emergency services on your behalf.
  • If your SAFE Timer expires without you extending or ending the timer, an amber alert, including your live location, will be sent to the ARC who will initiate a call back. If unable to verify your wellbeing, the ARC responder will escalate to an emergency red alert.
  • When the SOS is activated, the ARC are notified of your emergency, as well as your live location – and that of your contacts – displayed on an interactive map.
  • Depending on your situation, the ARC responder will use the contact information supplied by SAFE or of the emergency services to ensure as fast a response as possible.
  • Your primary contact will be notified by SMS, push notification and email that you have activated the SOS with your location.

For Ultimate users abroad:

  • If your SAFE Timer expires without you extending or ending the timer, an amber alert, including your live location, will be sent to the ARC who will initiate a call back. If unable to verify your wellbeing, the ARC responder will escalate to an emergency red alert.
  • When the SOS is activated, the ARC are notified of your emergency, as well as your live location – and that of your contacts – displayed on an interactive map.
  • Depending on your situation, the ARC responder will use the contact information supplied by SAFE for your Primary Contact to ensure as fast a response as possible. By displaying the location of your nearest contacts, if you are separated from your travelling companions or family, the ARC responder will be able to use that information to help co-ordinate your re-grouping.
  • Whilst the ARC is currently BS8484 accredited across the UK, we and our partners are constantly looking to expand our network of SAFE ARC’s around the world, ensuring a local response wherever you are.
  • Your primary contact will be notified by SMS, push notification and email that you have activated the SOS with your location.

For Pro users:

  • Your primary contact will be notified by SMS, push notification and email that you have activated the SOS with your location.
  • If your SAFE Timer expires without you extending or ending the timer, an amber alert, including your live location, will be sent to your primary contact, requesting they call you immediately.
Who can track me?

No-one is able to track your location unless you have specifically accepted their contact request and enabled them permission.

  • Tracking can be turned ON/OFF anytime and without notifying contacts of your preferences.
  • Tracking can also be enabled/disabled for each individual contact, giving you total control over who can follow your location.
What is geo-fencing?

A geo-fence is a virtual perimeter for a real-world geographic area. Geo-fences vary in size and shape and can be created around a specific location (i.e. a house or hotel), a wider area of interest (i.e. a town, city, or region) or a route you plan to take over land or water.

When you create a geo-fence for a contact:

  • You can choose to be notified when that contact enters or leaves the designated area.
  • Alternatively you can create geo-fences for yourself to be notified if you enter, leave or transit through a geo-fence saving you from actively checking in.

Only contacts that you have enabled to track your location are able to create geo-fences for you, and these can be easily viewed and managed in the app.

Will SAFE work anywhere in the world?

SAFE is designed to deliver its core functionality anywhere in the world. The accuracy and speed of location information is affected by factors such as network signal, internet connection, and phone operating system.

Tips to improve the accuracy of your device’s location information:

  • For iOS (Settings > SAFE Global):
        • Set permission to “Always” for SAFE to use your device’s ‘Location Settings’.
        • ‘Mobile Data’ and ‘Background App Refresh’ should both be enabled, and ‘Low Power Mode’ disabled.
  • For Android (Settings > SAFE Global):
        • ‘Allow background data usage’ and ‘Allow app while Data saver on’ should both be enabled.
        • ‘Location’ should be enabled under the ‘App permissions’ setting.
        • To maximise the SAFE user experience, it’s highly recommended to enable all permissions under this tab, as well as ‘Notifications’
How do I add or manage contacts?

Simply visit the Contacts page via the app menu to view, add, and remove contacts, as well as manage notifications and individual tracking preferences.

How do I upgrade or cancel my subscription?

To upgrade or downgrade anytime, simply visit the Upgrade page via the app menu and select your desired option.

Please note that for the purposes of payment, downgrading an account is processed from the next billing cycle, until which you are welcome to continue using the features of your current subscription.

Is my personal information safe?

Your information is kept safe under the highest regulations of GDPR. Personal information that you enter during the set-up is only ever shared with our SAFE Alarm Receiving Centre in cases of emergency SOS activation – this is to ensure the highest level of urgency in responding.